Chris Hixon Exemplary Sportsmanship Award


In conjunction with the goals and the mission of the NIAAA, FIAAA, FHSAA, and FACA, this award is designed to honor athletic administrators who have distinguished themselves as leaders that promote and exemplify the “Spirit of Sportsmanship”.

Each Florida high school and middle/junior high school may nominate one athletic administrator. One athletic administrator will be selected from each FHSAA section. There will be a total of four (4) athletic administrators selected as Chris Hixon Sportsmanship winners. Each winner will be presented with a commemorative plaque. The announcement of winners will take place during the Annual FIAAA State Conference.

Nominations for this award are done through FinalForms.


Section 1 – Scott Murphy, Navarre HS
Section 2 – Gerald Fuller, New Smyrna Beach HS
Section 3 – Evanitta Omensetter, Plant HS
Section 4 – Valerie Miyares, CAA, Palm Beach Public Schools


Section 1 – Cynthia Bateh, Englewood HS
Section 2 – Staci Hahn, University HS
Section 3 – John Gerdes, Clearwater Central Catholic HS
Section 4 – Chuck Sennett, Miami Country Day School